41st Area Artists’ Annual Juried Exhibit


Exhibition Dates:
October 20–December 8, 2018

Gallery Hours (during exhibits):
Thursday, Friday and Saturday | 11am–3pm
and by appointment

Location: Adobe Art Gallery
20395 San Miguel Avenue, Castro Valley, CA

Artists Reception:
October 20, 2018 | 1pm–3pm. All are invited! The event is free and open to the public. Awards will be announced at 1:45pm.

Juror René de Guzman, Senior Curator of Art at the Oakland Museum of California (OMCA), had the extremely challenging task of selecting 47 works of art for exhibition from the 127 pieces entered. There was an overall dark mood to the works submitted both formally through the use of black paint and black and white photographs to themes of death and loss. The work reflects our challenging times and within it, a hopeful element of perseverance.

Participating Artists:
Hollie Adamic, Hetal Anjaria, Marge Barta Atkins, Shari Benson, Clara Burton, Hui-Chung (Sylvia) Chang, Elinor Cheung, Natalie Ciccoricco, Debra Collins, Madelyn Covey, Amber Crabbe, Attila Cziglenyi, Marcella Davis,
Philip Denst, Selvaggio Dordetti, Mihaela Dulea, Ulysses Duterte, Paul James Fessa, Phillip Garbutt, Shelley Gardner, Seema Gupta, Kathleen Hardwig, Nina Kindblad, Marie-Luise Klotz, Leah Korican, Larry Lagin, Alli MacC, Ginny Milo, Bill Sala, Seongmi Seol, Madeline Shelby, Rita Sklar, Melanie Small, Kevin Street, Ruey Lin Syrop, Gerald Thompson, Winifred Thompson, Renea Turner, Sonia Underdown, Ain Veske and Doyle Wegner 

Merit Award, $150
Marcella Davis, Congress Street Bridge, archival digital print
Shelley Gardner, Target, wood, denim fabric
Leah Korican, Lo Specchio/The Mirror, acrylic and cut-outs on polyester film
Bill Sala, Industrial Revolution, oil on board
Kevin Street, 64 Impala, hardwood

Honorable Mentions
Natalie Ciccoricco, Cactus Retreat, embroidery thread, found image (paper)
Amber Crabbe, spring, archival pigment print
Amber Crabbe, again., 8-minute video
Attila Cziglenyi, Summer Jazz, oil
Selvaggio Dordetti, River, inkjet print
Ulysses Duterte, The Restoration, acrylic on canvas
Nina Kindblad, Eve, photography
Marie-Luise Klotz, Fragments #1, archival inkjet print
Larry Lagin, 9 - Camp survivors from Buchenwald’s “Children’s Block 66”, a special barracks for children, soon after liberation, Germany, after April 11, 1945., acrylic painting on canvas
Ruey Lin Syrop, Comfort Zone, oil on canvas

Mona Froyland Memorial Award, $250
Sponsored by Karen Froyland in memory of her mother, Mona Froyland, who owned and operated the Froyland Gallery and Picture Frame Company
Awarded to Bill Sala, Industrial Revolution, oil on board 

About the Juror:
René de Guzman is the senior curator of art at the Oakland Museum of California (OMCA). He joined OMCA’s staff in 2007 to complete the reinstallation of the Gallery of California Art. Previously, de Guzman was Director of Visual Arts at Yerba Buena Center for the Arts (YBCA) in San Francisco where he worked with emerging and mid-career local, national, and international artists for 15 years. De Guzman’s work both at OMCA and YBCA is marked by an ongoing commitment to experimentation and innovation, and the creation of community around cultural activity. De Guzman has been an active art educator and currently serves as Adjunct Professor in the Graduate Division of the Curatorial Studies Program at the California College of the Arts. René de Guzman juried the actual artwork and selected five Awards of Merit ($150) and ten Honorable Mentions.